Self-taught violinists.

June 9, 2012 at 03:55 PM · I am a self-teaching myself the violin with the help of books and online videos. I want to know if there are others or what people's thoughts are on it? I ,myself, am loving the experience and the challenge. It feels so rewarding to understand the violin as instrument and finding out ways to improve your playing. It is harder then self-teaching yourself other instruments like the piano for sure but it is real worth it when you make progress. I know some people scoff at the idea of a self-taught violinists or self-taught musicians in general.

Replies (26)

June 9, 2012 at 04:08 PM · Well duh we scoff at the idea of self taught. Much better to get a teacher, trust me, a good one can sky rocket your skill pretty quick

June 9, 2012 at 04:15 PM · I'd recommend, if money/time is the issue, maybe having a lesson every fortnight or two?

June 9, 2012 at 05:51 PM · I'm for lessons. There are just too many details that someone can get wrong, even if the person believes he or she is faithfully following the source materials. Part of this thinking might be spill-over from the fiddling world, where there is a mystique that somehow the good ones are self-taught. Commonly just not so. More likely, self-taught after watching relatives or neighbors for years, or some such. It's tough enough to succeed and play at a pretty high level with lessons. Who knows how many self-taught drop-outs are floating around??

June 9, 2012 at 06:17 PM · I've got a bit of experience with this. I taught myself by observing as many lessons as I could, my daughter's and others. You'll find it very difficult to progress beyond a certain point. Not impossible, but very tough. When I had my first lesson almost 2 years into playing violin it was a revelation. When you're self-taught you just don't know what you don't know even if you think you know. I agree that it can be a good bit of fun though ; )