Why does the thumb on my bow hold hurt and after practicing looks squishy?

June 8, 2012 at 01:07 AM · I don't know why but lately my thumb on my bow hold is starting to hurt and after I finish practicing or a take a break, I see that it looks squashed and like a raisin and I don't know why. I try loosening the grip on my bow but some how it still hurts. Is it over practice?

Replies (46)

June 8, 2012 at 02:14 AM · I am so glad you posted this. I have been having the same problem lately and was thinking of asking advice here.

In my case I have been playing for just under 15 months and I am starting to feel some confidence in my playing so I am relaxing more. I am also playing harder and longer than before.

I really think in my case that I am just squishing my thumb longer than it is used too. I might also be letting the bow slip sometimes since it looks like I may be developing a callus.

I also would appreciate any advice on this issue.

TIA

Pat T.

June 8, 2012 at 03:23 AM · I used to have this problem too, but it's getting better. I'm developing callus on my thumb too, that might help a bit, but I think in general I'm not gripping the bow too hard now.

when you start practice, try just bowing with relax hand (for example when playing scales). pay attention when you start gripping it too hard. play your piece slowly and keep checking if your hand is still relax, and stop if it start to tense. It took me a few years to stop hurting my thumb after practice. But I should have done more of what I just suggested above too :)

June 8, 2012 at 03:23 AM · Your bow hold should not be a death grip. There is a professional violinist that I sometimes see playing in recitals and chamber concerts. His bow hand looks so relaxed, as though it's the hand of a corpse, and yet all his articulations are clean and his playing is very expressive. Make sure your bow hold is not too "spread out" with spider-fingers going this way and that. It creates tension.