Are there quiet violins?

June 3, 2012 at 04:28 AM · I'm a beginner, learning to play on a Yamaha SV-150 silent violin. My teacher would like me to get an acoustic violin in order to improve my intonation and ear. I've been looking around at violins at Shar, Southwest Strings, etc and they all generally have comments on how well they project sound. I'm never going to be a concert violinist - I'm doing this for my own enjoyment. Is there a way to setup a violin so that it doesn't necessarily fill a concert hall? I've played with heavy mutes before and didn't enjoy it much. I also would rather not have play with a soft bow all the time in order to keep the volume down. So - are there other options?

Replies (32)

June 3, 2012 at 05:01 AM · Have you tried the heavy rubber mutes ? They sound better than the heavy metal mutes.

I have also heard that stuffing the violin with cotton wool will reduce the sound but I have not tried it and I do not know what effect it would have on the tone.

June 3, 2012 at 06:30 AM · If you take out the sound post it would make it pretty quiet but I would not advise doing so as it may well make the belly sag under the string pressure.

You could try cotton wool in your ears! You don't say why you want a quiet violin, is it for you or to stop it disturbing other people or neighbours?

Or get a baroque fiddle, they are pretty quiet ... (wink)

June 3, 2012 at 06:38 AM · @Peter, I thought taking the sound post out was the quick way to baroque a violin. A lot easier than doing a full conversion.

Cheers Carlo

June 3, 2012 at 06:41 AM · @David. There are plenty of soft violins available at dealers. These are usually the ones that don't shift. It is not normally what people want in a violin.

If it is a sweeter sound you are after an old Amati model, perhaps 18th century English, will fit the bill. These are fairly cheap if you look out for the trade violins made in St Paul's churchyard at that time.

Cheers Carlo