Instead of etudes, I skim through songs that I like

May 16, 2012 at 06:08 AM · I've been playing violin for 9 and a half months and I have a good grasp over the instrument. I can shift to 3rd and I am playing around in 5th position and my vibrato is coming along nicely. Since this is my first instrument and I have had no previous music experience, my ear is not as good as it could be and I rely on my muscle memory to secure intonation. One final note is that I can play any major and I am comfortable with both flats and sharps in a song.

I used to do Wohlfarht etudes. I got up to etude 16 and thats where I stopped. I started playing songs that I like. Well, I would skim through the song picking out parts I could actually play and put the other parts that I couldn't play aside.

What would you make of this? Etudes are pretty boring and the music I do like is entertaining and refreshing to play. What do experienced violinists make of this?

Replies (29)

May 16, 2012 at 06:13 AM · Some etude are nice, and still challenging.

I like kreutzer for exemple, but it's hell of a challenge for me. =x

May 16, 2012 at 06:23 AM · Etudes are not boring. They are the industrious anthems of technical progression. They are absolutely necessary and you'd be surprised how many of them are ingenious and charming pieces. Playing "songs" you like isn't going to carry you. Etudes will prepare you for the best pieces and repertoire if you have the patience and the dedication to work at them.

May 16, 2012 at 06:24 AM · Etudes are to be repeated again and again. Playing different pieces surely is refreshing, but do they serve the same purpose as the etudes, no... Etudes do not need to be boring - I play them for just 20 minutes per day and every time I repeat I want my left hand to be more relaxed, I want my bow arm to make a straight line with the bow, I want to make it all sound more 'flowing'... If it really does get boring, change the rhythm and make it more challenging.