Learn violin by oneself and still become good?

May 10, 2012 at 05:41 AM · I've been playing violin for two months and two weeks now and bought myself 3 essential elements 2000 for violin. I am a student who chose to focus on studying rather then working part-time but I am currently on a strike (from Montreal) so I started praticing violin and would really like to get at a decent level, but is it possible without a teacher?

Replies (52)

May 10, 2012 at 06:12 AM · It's possible, but it's really hard. Take a few lesson when you can afford them.

May 10, 2012 at 06:52 AM · I won't say it's impossible, but I'd say it's very, very close. Classical music is classical music because of its very refined pedagogy. It's VERY difficult to learn them from books, since it's something you have to learn physically. Similar to learning ballet with no instructions.

May 10, 2012 at 07:56 AM · Its surely doable. Combine the following:

a) If you plan to play lots with piano, ignore "perfect" tuning. Just go for the equal tempered. Download Finale/Sibelius softwares, to which you can compare your intonation in all interesting passages. People might disagree with me, but I would say at the end of the day, you can sound clean and wonderful even if not having perfect tuning...especially when you play with piano.

b) Always, always record yourself and listen. Compare to others of your level. Analyze-- what do you like on your playing, what don't you like? What would you like to improve? Let your taste drive your development.

c) Use the rating of etudes & exercises on violinmasterclass.com as a reference, even if it not always accurate.