Which piece of violin music do you dislike the most ?

April 26, 2012 at 03:46 AM · Which piece of violin music could you quite happily do without ? Either you are sick of playing it or you never liked it in the first place.

Replies (57)

April 26, 2012 at 05:52 AM · I know this 'may be wrong' but the ones I 'really' dislike I refuse to go anywhere near them and therefore do not play them, but there again I am only an adult amateur so perhaps I can 'afford' to be like that LOL :D

the ones I dislike the most are:

Ashokan Farewell (this is the one on the very top of the list) and Vivaldi concerto in A minor

The first probably as it really is not a style of music I like yet I have heard too many people playing it and I am really 'fed up' with it, the second as I've heard it way too many times played so badly and I think I only heard a decent rendition after I've heard it played badly a million times, so by that time in my head it sounded like a very bad/boring piece already LOL ;)

April 26, 2012 at 09:17 AM · Any kind of well-meaning rubbish written by well-meaning but un-talented violinists: Seitz, Rieding, Viotti etc. I prefer transcriptions of proper music.

Life is too short to play ill-written or tasteless "music". We don't feed our children junk food!

Or do we?

April 26, 2012 at 10:04 AM · Ravel's Tzigane: it has great difficulty; you need a superb technique, you must put in so much hard work, and it ends up sounding like that.

Horrible. Gah!