Question Regarding Vibrato and Hand Position

April 4, 2012 at 12:03 AM · Hello, I am a semi-beginning student, and I am having trouble with my vibrato. My teacher thinks I am proficient enough to use vibrato, but I am having trouble with it.

The trouble I am having is that I cant seem to keep room between the crook of my hand and the back of the neck while I am doing it.

I also cant manage to keep the side of my hand away from the side of the neck, making it difficult to move my hand and wrist accordingly.

Tips and Video recommendations would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks!

Hannah

Replies (39)

April 4, 2012 at 04:11 AM · slow movement. wide movement - a whole tone. find the easiest finger where it both sounds and looks correct - watch in the mirror and ask yourself if it looks like vibrato. work from that finger. keep your palm soft and just let your hand slide up and down from the note. Yes, its sounds like a siren. No, other people do not realise the contribution of the exercies to playing music. try from 3rd postion or 4th position, and an easier string like D or A, and initially stay up from the nut and try not to panic about 1st finger in 1st position.

all this is from my own perspective of the gazillion difficulties and hitches I seemed to encounter and still revert to when feeling uncertain about how to play a phrase. My youtube has a practise from about 6 months after starting, it essentially took a year to get something that wasn't a complete embarrassment.

April 4, 2012 at 09:54 AM · Aha...so it is not just me ! Why should the first finger in the first position be so difficult for vibrato ?

And why is it so much easier to do vibrato in the third position (with any finger) than the first position ?

Answers to these questions may help us beginners understand a bit more about what is going on and what we have to do.

April 4, 2012 at 12:41 PM · One word: YouTube!