First few millimeters of bowing

March 22, 2012 at 08:38 PM · Does anything beyond the first few millimeters of bowing matter for a beginner? If you can't produce a beautiful tone within the first couple of mm surely it ain't gonna happen? Should we just bow a couple of mm till we get that sound?

Replies (37)

March 22, 2012 at 10:24 PM · I started playing 19 days ago. From my limited experience on the violin I can only give you one bit of advice. Your not going to learn it unless you use it. I spend 90% of my practice time in front of a mirror keeping the bow slowly traveling straight, in one spot from frog to tip. All the way up and down. Open strings or one fingered note at a time. All four strings. The more I do this the easier it's getting. The better I'm sounding. Practice with the entire bow. My instructor wants me to play using the center. So wile I'm there that's all I'll use. When I'm at home I use the whole bow.

March 23, 2012 at 01:21 AM · I'm assuming the British mm is vastly different than the US mm.

March 23, 2012 at 04:41 AM · the British (actually European) mm is a device intended to help us deal with the Greece/and everybody else but they won`t admit it crisis. It`s value lies in the fact that politicians and usurers can assure us via the media that we are mms away from a breakthrough when in fact what this means is there isn`t a cat in hell`s chance of closing the vast gap between the warring factions.

Always glad to help,

Burp

March 23, 2012 at 10:43 AM · Scott: what is the US mm? Last time I looked you use the British Inch. Oh, unless you are talking about gun bore that is... :p

March 23, 2012 at 11:51 AM · @Buri

Lol!

@Other

1" = 2.54cm, 1cm = 10mm, do the conversion, I'm lost with you're way of measuring thing.