Serious non-professional violinist

March 12, 2012 at 03:37 AM · I have been playing the violin since 7 and I am now 17, I did not practice much when I was young but did so when I was older. I am now working on Kreutzer, The Lark Ascending, Bach G minor sonata and E major partita and Mozart G major. I am studying in college in Australia now and have limited practice time(2-3 hours a day in the hostel) and next I will be studying literature in university, hopefully still able to practice 2-3 hours a day. How many more years would it take for me to play the top end of the repertoire musically? I play in tune.

Replies (28)

March 12, 2012 at 03:57 AM · The questions you're asking (essentially, "when will I be really awsome?") has no answer. Perhaps you are asking the wrong question.

March 12, 2012 at 06:43 AM · Lily: I'm about at the same level as you - and I'm totally awesome already! :D

What I hear is that you love to play for the sake of it but you are also seeking a goal. Perhaps whats missing is performance? Learning without performance is like cooking without eating. Its fun to do but a bit pointless. Is this guess right?

March 12, 2012 at 09:00 AM · It depends on what you define as "top". If you mean being able to play Ernst without difficulty, you've got a loooooong way to go... (that thing is killing my tendons).

But Tchaikovsky and the likes? A few years (technique-wise), I think. I played Partita E 6, 7 years before I tackled Tchaikovsky, and I wasn't crazy about practising (read: I hated practising, and avoided it if I could).

March 12, 2012 at 09:43 AM · Just continue to learn, and practice. You'll know it when you reach the target - by the time you'll probably set another target to hit.