Coda Bow vs. Jon Paul?

March 8, 2012 at 03:10 PM · Hey guys,

So I am in the market for a new bow. I am currently using an ~$1000 german pernambuco bow.

I have the Coda Diamond GX, and various Jon Paul's on loan.

My first impression was that the coda gx was pretty good, but after playing with a Jon Paul Carrera, I fell in love with the Carrera. The discontinued Jon Paul Spiccato was also pretty good.

I know many of you won't touch anything besides a wooden bow (I was like this too. lol.), but I gave carbon fiber bows a chance, and I like them quite a bit. It's a bit different than the wooden bows, not better or worse, but just different.

Any opinions on the whole carbon fiber vs. wooden bow argument?

Any particular carbon fiber bows or wooden bows that you guys prefer?

Thanks guys!

-Kevin

Replies (28)

March 8, 2012 at 04:19 PM · I have a "Cadenza Master" (now known as their "Model 305" or "Three Star") violin bow. The price of this bow will be around $450-500 retail. I like it a lot. It can do all of the things that you want your bow to do. A fine professional violinist that I admire says I would have to spend over $2000 on a pernambuco bow that will outperform the Cadenza. He uses one when he is teaching. Cadenza is an Eastman brand but it is available through a few other dealers as well. I don't know anything about CodaBow but I would worry that anything promoted heavily by a top retailer with flashy ads and lots of real estate devoted to it in their printed catalogs is going to be more expensive than it needs to be.

March 9, 2012 at 12:56 AM · I agree. There is just something about the wooden bows that I cannot live without out, but then there are benefits from using the CF bows.

Some of the cf bows that I have tried were excellent in playability, but they lacked in sound--they did not sound as good as other bows.