Looking for practicing advice

March 7, 2012 at 07:18 PM · I have been teaching myself the violin for the past 8 months- about an hour each day. I'm 23 years old, and I'm just looking for advice for practicing.

I've read the forum topics posted for this subject, but I was looking more toward practicing specifics. Maybe something you did that helped you profoundly in your playing abilities, that you remember greatly over the years.

As of right now, I've been using youtube, and I've finished 'essential elements- book 2'- about to begin book 3. I'm happy with my performance so far. I know all the major chords and a few minors. I've been working on playing 16th notes, but found that it's tough to play at a high tempo.

Replies (26)

March 7, 2012 at 08:11 PM · One of my more helpful 'ah ha' moments was when I realized exactly how much pressure it takes to stop a string. I was using far too much (unneeded) energy in pressing down with my fingers, when in reality it takes almost nothing. Practicing using only the amount of pressure I needed solved most of my issues in select fast passages.

March 7, 2012 at 10:01 PM · schradieck basic exercises first page. play everything with metronom in quarters/eighth.. and so on. drop finger accurate and in time, lift them fast and light. Keep them close to the string.. use whole bow and keep it straght.

Your left hand will feel different after some days. Not speaking of the difference to months. Made me able to play fast!

March 8, 2012 at 03:07 AM · hahah! interesting, I always thought 'practise' was the english version of the same word, could be wrong though! Thanks for the advice regarding the strength needed for fingering. I've found that this was indeed very helpful. I'm also looking into the books you recommended, $2 on amazon! nice!