Absolute beginner with no real instructor in sight.

February 28, 2012 at 02:33 AM · A bit about myself. I’m 49 and have decided to learn the violin. I have relative pitch so hearing notes is not a problem. I’ve listened to classical music all my life. Played guitar in rock bands. Learned all the solos by ear. If I could hear it I could play it. Love Jazz. I plan on learning as much as I can playing classical violin then go into free form jazz. Here’s my problem. I had my very first violin lesson today. The first thing the teacher told me was to make a ‘U’ shape with my left hand. Then she directed the neck of the violin into the curvature of my thumb base and told me that’s how the violin is held. My thumb sticking up in the air like a dead tree trunk. The neck of the violin rested in my hand like a shovel handle. Vibrato is done by tapping the neck as you bow. She holds her bow on the top like you would a dinner knife. Despite the fact that I can barely read music she’s starting me in Suzuki book 2. HELP! This is the only instructor within 50 miles of where I live. My first thoughts were, “maybe I can move....” Not an option. Where do I go from here?

Replies (29)

February 28, 2012 at 03:12 AM · Yikes. I'm reading this and wondering if you are spoofing?? What you wrote doesn't sound remotely like classical technique. It doesn't sound like the "invented technique" of many good fiddlers, either. If this is for real, maybe you could get your computer set up for Skype, and take lessons that way. Or buy some beginner school-method books, study the descriptions & pictures, and teach yourself.

February 28, 2012 at 04:04 AM · You might have more options than you thought:

http://suzukiassociation.org/teachers/teacherloc/?do=search&zip=63383&dist=50&instr=Violin