How much do decent sounding strings cost?

February 11, 2012 at 11:15 PM · Im just wondering how much decent sounding strings cost. Because believe it or not, ive been playing with strings for 3 years that have cost 50 cents each xD Just recently ive noticed that, yes, they sound awful. I am wondering how much average sounding strings cost and wondering how much you guys have payed for your stings :D

Replies (44)

February 12, 2012 at 01:39 AM · Dominants with a Jargar or Larsen E string are a good choice, about 50 bucks.

There are no playable "Made in China" strings. Most of the good ones are still European.

www.manfio.com

February 12, 2012 at 02:51 AM · A few nice inexpensive strings are the Helicores, Zyex, Visons are around $40 you cannot go wrong with the Dominants with a gold E for $50

February 12, 2012 at 03:27 AM · Sorry to contradict earlier posts, but I think you can go wrong with dominants. I used them for most of my time on the violin and when I started to try different strings, on more than one violin, I never looked back.

(Sorry to all the dominant lovers)

February 12, 2012 at 03:31 AM · Whenever I switched away from Dominants, no matter for how long, I always switched back; there are few better substitutes on any well adjusted violin.

I get my Dominants for about $40 a set, and Visions for about $30, from violin-strings.com

Another good inexpensive string if you like Evah Pirazzis are the Zyex composite strings, which I find to be quite similar for a lower price.

February 12, 2012 at 04:03 AM · I just tried the Peter Infeld PI strings that cost over a $100. I still prefer the $40 Zyex strings.

February 12, 2012 at 05:17 AM · You can get them for something more like $80 at the site I posted..

EDIT: My favorite combo is a set of Dominants (with the aluminum D, not silver) with the Jargar heavy E string, which seems to be used by a lot of other people on this site. It simply draws the best voice out of my instrument.