People telling me I should go to school for the violin, but I've only been playing for about 3 years...

February 9, 2012 at 02:33 AM · I'm wondering if I should even bother going to school for the violin? I love the violin a lot, and I play for like 3-5 hours a day ... probably more. I can't really keep track because I'll just pick it up and play when I feel like it.

I've been playing for almost 3 years now. I'm 20 (As of 5 months ago), and I started about 5 months before I turned 18. My first violin teacher was impressed with my sight reading and my progress. Same with my second violin teacher. My third teacher - with whom I'm studying now - is also impressed by my sight reading, as well as my posture and stuff like that. My current teacher is part of the Suzuki association. Here's a link so that you guys can get an idea of what her teaching style is like:

http://www.suzukiontario.org/teacher/coltof-kathy

Would it be possible to go to university for the violin? There's a few universities I could apply to. My teacher said I'm a grade 6 according to the Suzuki method. My teacher thinks that in a year, I can work my way up to a grade 8, maybe even 9, but I'd have to work really hard to get to either of them. I really wish I had started when I was like 10 - I did piano for about 3 years (7 to 10) then I did the Alto sax for about 5 years (12-17), so I am no stranger to music.