How to overcome

January 31, 2012 at 04:13 PM · Odd "problem" here.

Though a lifelong musician (symphonic percussion & voice) I am a adult violin student (1 year of study but doing quite well) and absolutely loving it! I am going with my husband in March to a convention in Salt Lake City -- so many violin shops there (we have virtually none in Louisiana) -- and I know I must visit some.

My problem is my fear of intimidation in visiting these shops. Will my explanation that I am, in fact, "one of them," sort of, in a musical sense help? I have read of high-end shop snobbery. Will I be looked down upon? I will mainly be bow shopping; I just hope that I can play well enough to discern what will qualify as a good bow. I hope to also visit Moroz Violins, but don't feel as much intimidation there, as I have already communicated with him, and he understands my background, so to speak.

I just wonder if any other-instrument musicians have ever suffered this dilemma and how they may have handled it?

Replies

January 31, 2012 at 04:34 PM · You've answered your own question: there are lots of shops in SLC. If one place seems to think you stepped in a cow pie right before entering, turn around and walk the other way. There will be another place that will be happy to have your business whether or not you are looking at Tourte bows. Most shops are quite friendly, and smart enough to realize that your money helps keep the doors open even if you're not playing Carnegie next week.

January 31, 2012 at 04:58 PM · If you have been playing for one year then my guess is you are not looking at $20,000 bows, but I guess I should not assume that.