Tips for motivation needed

January 24, 2012 at 11:34 PM · I am in my third year at music college, and therefore an important time! I feel tired and unmotivated a lot of the time, and I'm not sure why. I do have some family issues at the moment (close relative with ongoing illness)which may have something to do with it but I really wish I could separate these parts of my life. Because of my lack of motivation I have not practised for a while, however when I went to practise earlier I realised I was not even sure of how to practise. I have a few pieces on the go, some that I am just starting, but I could not find a way to practise other than playing through. Can anybody recommend any tips for motivation...and some advice on reminding me how to practise? Thanks in advance.

Replies (23)

January 25, 2012 at 03:43 AM · For starters, write a reasonable practice plan, including not just your working pieces, but also technique.

For example, you might plan to do x minutes on scales, x minutes on bow strokes, x minutes on vibrato, x minutes on shifting studies, x minutes on speed drills, x minutes on thirds, etc.....it adds up! On your working pieces, plan for x minutes on identified tricky bits, x minutes for phrase by phrase practice, x minutes for run-throughs, etc. Also plan to listen to artist recordings of your repertoire. Once you have your work plan laid out, check items off as you go!

January 25, 2012 at 04:43 AM · You might wish to explain your situation to the teacher and ask them for some advice.

January 25, 2012 at 06:29 AM · Yes, here's some motivation:

"would you like fries with that burger?"

"Size 8 EE? Let me see if we have that in stock"

"For a large pepperoni and mushroom, that will be $13.99. We'll be there in about 20 minutes."

you: "do I REALLY have to wear the pirate hat on a delivery?"

manager: "yes."

Voice behind curtain after 13 seconds of Mozart concerto:

"thank you #5. That will be all."