Adult beginner - intonation: what should I be aiming for?

January 16, 2012 at 05:42 PM · Hi, I am new to playing the violin as an adult beginner with some previous experience in learning to sing and play an instrument. I've had a lot of help from this forum since I started little over 2 months ago and will now venture to ask a question about intonation. I've been bothered by my playing out of tune, and trying to get it right, without a lot of success. In today's lesson my teacher instructed me to listen for the 'ringing tones' (harmonics?) and I am very happy to find that I can actually discern them. This, however, is my question: should I be aiming to play my (simple) song perfectly in tune? This may sound silly, since obviously I would *love* to, but at this point it requires a tremendous amount of concentration and effort, which hampers my attempts at relaxation and spontaneity. So I would love to set myself a realistic goal and would like to hear opinions on what that could be at my level.

Yola

Replies (36)

January 16, 2012 at 05:58 PM · Yola,

My teacher always told me "Never play wrong notes, if the note is out of tune, fix it immediately. If you get used playing the correct intonation your fingers will fall in place automatically. You must listen very closely to everything that you play. In the beginning this may mean to slow everything down and question every tone that you play. Your ear must find the correct intonation immediately, and your fingers need to be trained to respond to what your ear hears. To reiterate, never play a wrong note if the note is not correct FIX IT.

January 16, 2012 at 06:42 PM · I will second the above recommendations. In a thread a year or two ago, the OP stated that being a little off in intonation is acceptable in a beginner.

No -- it isn't. And I challenged him on that point. It may be more understandable in a beginner -- just as 2+2=5 is more understandable in a beginning math student. But it's still unacceptable.