Discouraged........

January 4, 2012 at 03:12 AM · Help!

I had a horrid lesson and I am so discouraged with my lack of progress!!!!

I've been on the same song for a month now!

Replies (30)

January 4, 2012 at 03:50 AM · Hi,

wouldn't that depend on your skill level and the difficulty of your piece? You shouldn't feel discouraged by one bad lesson. No one can play great everyday so yea. I'd say don't worry about it

January 4, 2012 at 05:33 AM · We all have those days. You have my sympathy! One month is not that long. Try to set specific daily and weekly practice goals for improvement, and follow through. You will see progress!

January 4, 2012 at 06:38 AM · Hi Sara, I've been learning for around 3 years and I still have pieces that take me a couple of months to learn properly. And yes, I do have a horrid lesson from time to time too. As I am a perfectionist, I find it hard to take in my stride, but I'm getting better at using the 'horrid' lesson to my best advantage. One has to make mistakes so that the teacher knows where to correct you, and if you take from the lesson the very important comments your teacher made, you will progress far more quickly. Get determined and set to work on the parts your teacher mentioned, right from the start. Even if you have to use a lesson diary to write down things you feel you might forget. Paying attention during a tough lesson will make a huge difference. I promise you! Good Luck :)

January 4, 2012 at 12:48 PM · Sara --