After Mozart...skipping Mendelssohn?

December 22, 2011 at 10:07 PM · I would like your opinions about my next piece. I have finished the Mozart 3 a few years ago while still a college student, and after that had a lapse in my playing until this past year. This past year I began playing again. I am 23 and started when I was 5, but during college played 'more for fun' in the 2nd violin section because I worked full time (in order to pay for my education) and had little practice time.

That being said, I spent this year brushing up on Mozart, and learning Meditation from Thais and the Theme from Schindlers' List. This year marked the start of me being self-taught, as I now live on a different continent than my father. We still talk via internet about violin related things, and my dad recommended the Mendelsohn, which he learned after he learned Mozart, back when he was a kid.

However, after listening to this piece, I realized that I DON'T LIKE IT AT ALL. In my opinion (not to offend anyone who likes this piece) it just sounds ugly and I don't want to devote time to practice a piece I don't like.

I would like your opinions regarding this, if it is okay to not learn the Mendelsohn and work on a different piece instead of similar difficulty? If so, which piece(s) would be a good alternative? Is there a value in learning a piece you don't like? As someone who takes the violin seriously, is it 'bad' if I don't learn such a well-known piece?

Thank you in advance for your replies.

Replies (22)

December 23, 2011 at 02:22 PM · It's ok not to learn any piece you don't like, so long as you are not a soloist trying to make a living. What concertos do you like? You might want to pick one of those, if your teacher thinks you are ready. HOwever, without knowing what you have already played, it is hard to advise, although Bruch might be a good choice. BEyond that, Mozart #5 is good, or any of the Bach concertos, if you have not played them. Have fun!