Wired after playing?

December 13, 2011 at 04:10 PM · My teacher taught me a Christmas song (Angels we have heard on high) and I had been practicing it for two weeks (constantly)LOL. Last night we had our duet...I videotaped it and put it on you tube. I was so excited about our little performance, even though I look scared, but I was so wired when I got home. I must have watched the video about 30 times and had the most awesome feeling of accomplishment...

I was just wondering if anyone had felt this way after a performance, or is it because I am a beginner and just super excited?

Replies (21)

December 13, 2011 at 04:26 PM · Say what??

December 13, 2011 at 05:44 PM · So, apparently, trolls creep out during the daylight hours as well.

December 13, 2011 at 08:07 PM · Dear Friends - don't engage in dispute; just hit the Flag button at the end of any post you are sure does not belong here.

December 13, 2011 at 08:10 PM · Hi Patty-There's nothing like the feeling after a great performance, congratulations! It doesn't matter that you're a beginner we all get that rush when everything comes together. The real test is to learn from those performances that don't go exactly to plan.

-M

PS: Folks don't feed the troll!

December 13, 2011 at 08:21 PM · I get a rush too...a solo is the most nerve wracking...and I'm working on that...then a quartet...then the orchestra...

But even after an orchestral performance, I'm still on a mini-high. It's a great feeling.

December 13, 2011 at 09:38 PM · ....and if you do it with beer or wine, you go from "wired" to "tired" !

December 13, 2011 at 10:08 PM · I remember after my very first concert in sixth grade, I lay awake in bed most of the night. I just couldn't come down! I got really stressed out about it, too, because I had to go to school the next day.

I can still remember what I wore, down to the hair bow, belt and shoes.