Losing My Ability To Play

December 11, 2011 at 06:21 PM · After I began getting used to the violin, I began to feel confident enough to play with my window open in the summer time.

But, now, if it were still summer I wouldn't even attempt to crack the window in the slightest due my horrid playing.

As a beginner I realize that I will not sound like the greats, but I have evolved enough for a clear tone. My parents have even commented that my playing has degraded. They are thinking that this coincides with me taking lessons from my current teacher. I am beginning to think so too.

I have retraced many things my previous teacher (whom went off the university) told me, but since I have no reinforcement, or am told that it is incorrect, there is no progression.

Any advice?

Replies (25)

December 11, 2011 at 07:16 PM · Talk to your teacher. Maybe they're working on other goals besides your tone. Also maybe your violin has come out of adjustment and would benefit from a trip to a luthier.

December 12, 2011 at 01:32 AM · Sounds like you need a different teacher. Or maybe as Paul suggests, your instrument needs adjustment.

But you might also try Simon Fischer's fantastic video "The Secrets of Tone Production" if you are having issues with your tone.

December 12, 2011 at 02:29 AM · To check your instrument:

1. Have you change your strings lately?

2. Is your bow hair worn out or being too old or accumulated too much rosin?

3. Check if the strings sunken deeper into the bridge.

To check your playing:

1. Had you focus too much on your left hand?

2. Did you change anything since your current teacher, like bow hold, posture, etc?

3. What was wrong about your current playing, according to your current teacher?