Left Hand Stretches without violin

November 14, 2011 at 02:19 AM · Can anyone recommend a stretching exercise I can do with my left hand to hit those 4th finger notes? Preferrably something off the violin so I can do it outside of practise. I'm an older beginner with good sized hands and long fingers. Just can't seem to get out far enough to hit the D-A-E or B - I'm always flat. I've been doing the one where the hand is placed palm down on a surface and the fingers splayed out as wide as possible. Been doing that for a month now without much to show for it.

Replies (21)

November 14, 2011 at 03:24 AM · Greetings,

personally I think you would be better off trying to find out the exact cause of the problem while using the isntrument. It probably isn`t your ability to sretch perse.

A common error is to have the hand set a litrtle too close to the scroll with the weight balanced on the first and second fingers. One should set up the left hand by making sure that the little finger is confortable and curved (assuming one has hands like yours) and gently try to educate yourself to keep the balance of the hand of the tird and fourth fingers whiloe tyhe first inparticlar is psychologuicvaaly speaking , stretching back, if necessary. this is how tyhe hand actually functions as a stretchign machine.

As you have already discovered, independent stretching is not particlualry egfficacious and may even be harmful in the long run.

Other finger exercises away form the instrument are often useful.

Cheers,

Buri

November 14, 2011 at 03:24 AM · Be sure to consult your teacher if you have one.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

EDIT: Your hand position must allow you to curve your fingers right over the strings so that you lift and drop from the base joints. Don't cock the wrist backward -- this will lengthen the distance the fingers must travel to reach the strings.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -