Quest for best E string

November 5, 2011 at 08:38 PM · What E string is your favorite-- which do you find to have the warmest and most beautiful sound?

Replies

November 5, 2011 at 09:16 PM · "Warmest and most beautiful sound?"

Does one really want a warm sound on the E?

At the moment I use the Goldbrokat E, as it suits my instrument best.

November 5, 2011 at 09:29 PM · Goldbrokat E, GREAT E string, since I've discovered it I don't want any other E string :)

November 5, 2011 at 10:28 PM · I am not a violinist, but I do sell a lot of Goldbrokats in my shop and it's my favorite for setting up violins.

If you want something different, an E string that sounds like an extension of the other strings, not something different from them, like most E strings (something you won't realize was the case until you try this string), the wound Pirastro Eudoxa, about $9 from Shar, will surprise you.

November 7, 2011 at 02:45 AM · Elizabeth: I'm not a professional but I've tried a lot of E strings over the years and take E's very seriously. You mentioned warm/beautiful. Is your violin on the brighter side and would like something warmer? What are some E's that you've already tried? I find a lot of gold E's like say obligatos or especially Infeld gold Reds to be over warm. With Pirastro Olive gold E's you can hear that gold warmth but not over done. and you might call them beautiful, I think they sound very nice, if perhaps not really loud. Larson Gold are not syrupy either, you can certainly hear the gold, but some consider them to be somewhat bright/aggressive for gold on certain fiddles.

I use a Jargar Forte E and have yet to find one I like better. They are clear, round, not shrill, not silvery (I don't particularly like silvery) good volume, and what I would call a beautiful singing voice.

and finally... the sound of the E in itself is only half of it imho. the other half is the influence in sound and tension that they exert on the other 3.