My teaching website

November 2, 2011 at 02:11 PM · Hey guys, long time lurker and first time poster. I'm a viola/violin teacher in the Sacramento area. I have had trouble getting any significant amount of students. The ones that have tried me, however, have ALL stayed with me and confessed I'm their best teacher yet, but I suppose publicity is what I lack. So, I finally made a website! I was hoping you guys might critique it and perhaps even mention it to people you might know in the sacramento area:

SacramentoStrings.com

Thanks so much in advance, guys!

On a side note, I've been looking for a really good violinist to play Symphonia Concertante with me, just for fun. I just recently got back on the playing bandwagon, and I realized something I missed in my earlier playing years was getting the opportunity to play a duo with someone equally passionate/skilled as me (that reads very arrogantly, but it's not intended as such).

Replies (24)

November 2, 2011 at 05:11 PM · I visited your site. Nice work -- easy page navigation; narrative easy to follow.

I don't design Web sites for a living, but I know a good deal about this work. I built my site in June 1997, just over a year after I went into business for myself -- not the music business -- and have been the sole site manager since then. So I can definitely relate to what you're trying to do.

I don't know how long you've had your site, but I know from experience that longevity helps. Just a couple of things I noticed right off:

1. The source code doesn't have the keywords meta tag. This tag helps a lot -- but if you add one, don't use more than about a dozen keywords.

2. On the home page, if you've set up an audio file to kick in when someone lands on the page, I would seriously consider resetting it as a clickable link instead. My system blocked a pop-up -- that can be a distraction.

Unless you've already done this, check out Website Grader. BTW, at this writing, violinist.com has a 99/100 rating.