Morally Corrupt modern makers

September 25, 2011 at 05:27 PM ·

Has anyone run into crooked-theif modern makers? I ask becasue my teacher got ripped off for 800 dollars, and I cam considering putting a hefty deposit down on a modern, and I do not wish to be stolen from? Does anyne have any experience with this?  

Replies (33)

September 25, 2011 at 07:00 PM ·

I've yet to meet a morally corrupt modern maker, but for $800 you can't expect a Strad!! (Wink)

September 25, 2011 at 08:43 PM ·

$800? I don't know anybody who makes a decent violin for that $8,000, let alone $800.. and I'd hope that there aren't any modern makers out there with the gall to charge $80,000 for their instruments.

September 25, 2011 at 09:31 PM ·

beeing ripped off for 800 $ doesn't necessarily means that that was exactly the price, right?

I have no bad trading experiences with luthiers yet. But I met some with who I don't want to trade or just very carefully. For dealing with violins you need some experience and self-confidence.

Good violin makers will give you informations and long time to test instruments and decide. I think the best are as interested in your opinion as they are in selling, so giving you their instruments for your opinion is not a bad deal for them.

In the range of school instruments some strange things ("rip offs") happen all the time. Dealers cheat on unexperienced parents or even worse on grandparents. And they cheat on unexperienced players sometimes too. How your teacher could be "ripped off" is not really understandable for me. But thats maybe also nothing for a public forum isn't it!?

Another "dark side" of the violin making business is the difference in quality of work if you go there as a experienced player or as a student. A student gets his work (rehair, some fixing.. whatever) done by the assistants of the violin maker. They can be good, but mostly they are worse than their master of course. The problem is that the price is often the same.