What do I need for my violin

September 21, 2011 at 09:52 PM ·

Hi!

I'm thinking about starting the violin again, since it has been soooooo long since I even touch it. I mean, I started when I was 7 and drop after 2 month. The only thing I remeber are how to hold the violin, take care of it, and hold the bow correctly.

I have a budget of $900 MAX! I don't intend to go any farther than that. And was wondering what do I need to buy and how much should I expect out of it. I already have a violin, case, bow and rosin in mind, and was wondering what else do I need :)

I'm only 13 now if that help. Total beginner, but are straight up perfectionist. I do intend to stick with the violin for a long time. So crappy $99 violin is a no-no, don't try to direct me to those site.

Also any other upon taking of the violin is greatly welcome. I just move from a hot year-round climate to Minnesota freezing winter. I understand how humidity and dryness may affect my violin. Tips on that would be Super-Awesome.

And......one last thing. Tips on staying concentrate to practice at least 1/2 hr. a day is AWSOME. I'm a bit hyperactive, and get distracted very easily.

THANKS!!

Replies (22)

September 21, 2011 at 10:30 PM ·

A tuner/metronome would be handy to have.  A music stand.  Some music books.  Spare strings if you don't live where you could get replacements easily.  A teacher could make all the difference.  A shoulder rest if you are going that route.  A sharpened #2 pencil with a good eraser is critical.  A good attitude is necessary, and the self-discipline to practice.

September 21, 2011 at 10:39 PM ·

You will be best off, as Lisa suggests, if you get a teacher. The teacher can help you get an adequate violin and bow and recommend an appropriate rosin for your new climate. Unless you intend to run over it with a car, a relatively inexpensive, violin-shaped case will be adequate.