Keeping shoulder rest on violin 24x7

September 11, 2011 at 08:06 PM ·

I am a new student to the violin.  I've recently setup a string swing to hang my violin from the wall next to my practice stand. Makes it much easier to pick it up for 10 minutes or so for a quick run thru scales.  I have a Kun shoulder rest, and I'm leaving that on when it's hung up.  Is this bad for the violin?

Replies (21)

September 11, 2011 at 08:36 PM ·

I'd actually dare to suggest that putting on/taking off the rest several times a day will cause more wear to the varnish than just leaving it on (can't think of any other detrimental effect...)

September 11, 2011 at 08:48 PM ·

Hi-Don't you think leaving it on so long will have a band-aid effect on the varnish when you do finally remove the shoulder rest? Rubber can sweat sometimes too if there's moisture in the air.

-M

September 11, 2011 at 09:34 PM ·

i have left my everest or kun shoulder rests on full time during christmas holidays when the temperature gets to 35 - 40 C and stinking humidity.  Becasue its holidays, theres no orchestra, no ensemble, at most it might be taken off for a trip to have a violin lesson, lucky if that happens more than twice in that 2 month period, oh and the new years eve party play along. and never had any problems with sticking or damage otherwise.  I cover the string swinger with a silk scarf when the violin is hanging, to keep dust and insects off it.

September 11, 2011 at 11:35 PM ·

No shoulder rests come near my violins 24/7 365 days a year. :)

September 12, 2011 at 12:12 AM ·

So what you are saying Nate is that not even the little bit of your violin covered by the shoulder rest clips is protected from environmental wear... :p

I leave mine on all week and only take it off to go for a lesson or chamber music.  I agree with the above that the wear is from taking it on and off...

September 12, 2011 at 02:45 AM ·