Dominant or ............

August 22, 2011 at 02:17 AM ·

I have used the Diminant strings (both G D A E) for 8 years. Recently, when I play a four violin concerto with my friends in Music Camp, I find my violin is not powerful enough. I have try evah from Pirastro but it doesn't change a lot and evah is expensive. I am now thinking about use Vision or Tonica. I there any other strings have a powerful sound with a reasonable price? The price of Dominant is very reasonable.  I am a student from Hong Kong.

Replies (21)

August 22, 2011 at 10:18 AM ·

It's not the strings that will make the difference.

August 22, 2011 at 10:39 AM ·

Greetings,

Michael is correct.  Assuming that you are producing te bes possible sound for an instrument then the strings will only improve things to a limited extent if that is all the instrument has in its bank account.  A simple way to check this is to listen to othe rpeople playing their own and your instrument.  I am assuming you did this.

One problem I can see sraight away is that you are using the Dominant e string.  This is basically a piece of junk which bears no comparison with the desrvedly respected lower strings.  Just changing that string may make a lot of difference.   then I would suggest you try the Vision (Solo perhaps).   Also experiment with Infeld red and blue.  Both of these kinds of strings have different effects on differnt violins although blue errs towards brightness and red a darker more mellow sound.  They can be used in combination with each other and dominats which is also good news.

Cheers,

buri

August 22, 2011 at 11:14 AM ·

Dominants are quite good strings, I know several top tier professionals who've tried other, "better" strings, and went back to Dominant. If your violin can't be heard with Dominants on it, it's not the string's fault, it's either your violin's fault, your setup's fault, or your fault.