Help on releasing the index finger side of my left hand from the violin neck.

August 13, 2011 at 05:03 PM ·

After a whole summer of work at a major music festival full of performances, lessons, rehearsals, and coachings, I found out a major flaw in my left hand technique.  My intonation accuracy has grown tremendously over the past few years, but I realized that I gained it in spite of a big problem....the index finger side of my left hand "braces" itself against the neck of my violin.  I realize that, for the most comfort and efficiency, one should only have the thumb touching the neck of the violin.

Another reason that I felt like I should change is because having this other "brace" on the violin neck causes extra tension, causes me to grip more with the thumb, and it also stops me from having one constant hand position up and down the instrument (I need to constantly change my hand around).

I started practicing by releasing the other side of my hand away from the neck, but I lost ALL intonation.  Not just a little bit...I literally could not find any notes on the fingerboard.  Over a few days, that has improved somewhat, but not much.  However, I do feel some tightness in my left elbow and wrist area, because I think I am getting some tension due to my losing a point of contact (in the index finger side of my left hand not touching the violin).

Sorry for the long post...can someone help me with tips on how I should practice?  I haven't had a lesson yet as I am not home, but I texted my teacher who said to try to focus my hand around my third finger.  Any more advice as to how to gain more accuracy and comfort?

Replies

August 13, 2011 at 05:35 PM ·

Why do you think that releasing the index finger from the neck is a virtue? Why do you want to do this? 

August 13, 2011 at 05:44 PM ·

Brian as far as I can tell there are two schools of thought on this issue.  On one side is a long tradition of contact on both sides of the neck.