Is there truth in, 'You get what you pay for?'

July 27, 2011 at 03:56 PM ·

I am about to take up the violin. As I have heard time after time that getting a teacher is mandatory, I am going to be taking private classes. As for an instrument, I was wondering if anyone here can shed some light on the brand Cecelio? As I stated in the title, I know you typically get what you pay for. I came across this instrument on Ebay and I am wondering if it would be suitable to begin on. I like the fact that it is a silent instrument, but at $95 are there any playability issues I should be wary of? Dealing with guitars I do know that cheap instruments usually have horribly unplayable action. Would this same problem be inherent of a cheap violin? Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Replies (21)

July 27, 2011 at 05:05 PM ·

Do you have a link?

July 28, 2011 at 12:12 AM ·

Hey Dustin,

First of all, I have no experience with Celicio and can only give my experience on acoustic instruments (which in my opinion are much better). In my experiences, cheap instruments can be of excellent quality. I currently play on a Chinese Yitamusic violin that I purchased for $169 US dollars. This violin dominates over the Gliga Maestro I have in tone, projection, and playability which I paid well over a thousand dollars for. I also previously bought a Yitamusic M20, 16.25in viola for $269. I threw some Warchal strings on it and I could not be happier. I’ve also gotten six bows (two viola and four violin) which I love. The build and quality of these instruments and bows is outstanding for the price paid.

Best of luck,

John

July 28, 2011 at 01:03 AM ·