Raising the Chinrest

July 7, 2011 at 10:02 PM ·

Hi everyone! I am a beginner with only few months of experience under my belt. The violin feels very uncomfortable due to my long neck. No chinrest on the market (not even the 35mm SAS) allows me to play comfortably without having to press hard with my chin/jaw in order to prevent the violin from falling. I bought some corks (5mm thick) but they dampen the sound too much and the chinrest clamp cannot go high enough to fit all the corks to get the height I needed. So I plan  to do some modding myself.

What kind of wood goes with a standard ebony chinrest (Berber)? And what kind of glue should I use? Where can I get everything?

Replies (25)

July 7, 2011 at 11:28 PM ·

I'm a beginner too, just about 2 months into violin so take this with a grain of salt and me just thinking out loud, but if you cannot find a chinrest tall enough, would you be able to compensate on height by adding the tallest shoulder rest you can find to this equation?

July 8, 2011 at 12:36 AM ·

Not if the violin is to be in contact with the collarbone, as it should be whether or not a shoulder rest is used. 

July 8, 2011 at 12:37 AM ·

Since raising the shoulder rest in effect raises the violin, I can understand why the op might prefer to raise the chin rest.  Here are two sites that might offer suggestions.

http://www.violinistinbalance.nl

http://www.chinrests.com/

My own experience; I was fitted for a Frisch by one of his associates, but then had a violin-maker friend raise a chinrest I already owned.  Not much less expensive, really, but I was there, we could fine-tune as we went, and I felt more secure.  The Violinist in Balance site has some really excellent discussions of set up in general.

Good success to you!

July 8, 2011 at 12:47 AM ·