How to keep chamois moist

June 30, 2011 at 08:59 PM ·

Hello, I am new here. Sorry this might be a bit off topic but I really don't know where else to ask.

I am a beginner college student just started violin few months ago. The violin never felt comfortable on my shoulder due to my long neck. After reading extensively on the theory of tall chinrest and shouldrestless, I decided to give it a try. I got a shammy from my local auto store and gave it a good wash to neutralize the scent. But now I can't get it to stay smooth and soft after I dry it. Any idea how to revive the leather?

Replies (21)

June 30, 2011 at 09:16 PM ·

NOTE: This is not from first-hand use, so take this advice with caution.

Chamois is a natural animal skin, so I would suggest two possible options.

• Wash with saddle soap, which is designed to be used to clean leather
  • Use lanolin (sparingly!) and work it into the chamois. Don't try and get it perfect right away; use about 1/4 of what you expect to need, work it in, and let it sit overnight. Let the pores absorb the lanolin at their schedule.

The second note is from experience; when trying to oil or treat leather, I find that I need to under-do rather than over-do. A bit of treatment followed by time works mych better.

June 30, 2011 at 09:45 PM ·

Greg go back to the auto store and get another piece of shammy. Do not wash it, but sprinkle it with your dads under arm deodorant.  You will smell so nice that you will attract admirers.

July 1, 2011 at 02:44 AM ·

chamois cream.

Bicycle racers use it. Used to use real chamois in their shorts.

July 1, 2011 at 07:19 AM ·

@Bill,

I once had a pair of bicycle racer shorts; had to get rid of them. They rode up pretty fast.

July 1, 2011 at 07:32 AM ·

I hadnwash my chamois in shampoo and then condition with hair conditioner - although it still dries a bit stiff initially, it softens up after the first use (I use mine over the chin rest, so maybe it gets more body heat and moisture there?)