After de Beriot Scene de ballet...

June 27, 2011 at 12:21 AM ·

I'm currently working on both the Beethoven Romance in F and de Beriot Scene de Ballet and I think both are achievable within a few months.  I really want to do the Bruch in G but its too big a technical jump from these.  Any suggestions which piece(s) I should do in between to best prepare technique?

Thanks ..

Replies (23)

June 27, 2011 at 01:52 AM ·

Kabalevsky?

June 27, 2011 at 02:10 AM ·

I thought about that - unfortunately one can not look over the score because its not on IMSLP yet (just under the limit I think).  I did listen to it on utube though and it sounds like a very interesting idea as its a more modern form than I have tried yet while being approachable.

June 27, 2011 at 02:18 AM ·

I'm an amateur violinist and not a teacher, and I shouldn't be giving advice, but I don't think the Bruch concerto would be that big a technical jump after the pieces you are working on.  The last movement may take more work that the first two, but you could get a lot out of the first two movements if you've already worked on the De Beriot.  Go ahead and try it.

June 27, 2011 at 02:49 AM ·

well... I did have a look.  The first part of both the first and second movements 'play themselves', as were - least for me as I'm very much theme driven and these are surely some of the best melodic themes in violin repertoire.  its just after the first bits ... :)  Perhaps I should have another look, it just looked a bit intimidating.  What I don't want is to get into something where I'm too technically bogged down and get bored.  Maybe the correct lesson is which etudes should I have mastered before trying this concerto I'm not sure... I'm sure I'm not strong enough in double stopping....

June 27, 2011 at 02:50 AM ·