Changing Keys

May 31, 2011 at 12:44 AM ·

This is probably a very simplistic question but I'm a beginner and if I don't ask, how will I know?  I play at a bluegrass/folk music jam session every Sunday.  When it came my turn to choose a song, I chose "You are My Sunshine".  It's simple and I know it fairly well.  I play it in D.  The banjo player suggested we play it in A since our "D" pitch singer wasn't there and he was going to be the singer.  I know that D and A are fairly similar keys.  The mandoline player said to just bump up a string.  But I start the song on the D and work up the E so if I started on the A I would run out of strings.  I don't know 2nd position yet, so that's out.  Would I, instead, bump DOWN a string and start with the A on the G string?  That would mean every note would bump up one finger.

Is it really that simple or am I totally screwed up?  I haven't learned to play by ear so if I don't have sheet music in front of me I am completely lost.  This is becoming a big problem that I need to work on.

Replies (22)

May 31, 2011 at 01:06 AM ·

Correction to above..... I typically play this tune in G, not D.

May 31, 2011 at 01:19 AM ·

Hi Sue,

Yes, you got it right. Either bump up or bump down as applicable. Yes, if you normally start on the G, just go up one finger position.

You must get off the sheet music if you want to play in jams. Sheet is ok for at home trying to learn some new melodies but it falls flat on its face stylistically. And as you have noticed, bluegrass players do things like changing keys on the fly and off they go.