What is talent?

May 8, 2011 at 11:00 PM ·

I have been playing the violin for about 2 years now. I LOVE the instrument and I want to study at university and do my Bachelor of Music. How do I know if I actually have talent? People say I do but... I am doing grade five in Trinity this year however some of the pieces I am playing are harder than that. I have only been having lessons for just over a year. I have a background in music and have been playing the piano for over 10 years. I know I'm not a prodegie or anything like that but I am just wondering can I actually get somewhere with my music in life?

What is the definition of talent? Is there one?

Replies (52)

May 8, 2011 at 11:18 PM ·

Well, I always repeat 3% talent, 97% work, so imo, it doesn't really matter. As you move along, if you are able to keep up your effort & enthusiasm even when faced with really difficult music, difficult teachers, competitive (and mean) schoolmates and such, you should be fine. Sue  

May 9, 2011 at 12:24 AM ·

These days there is documented proof that the amount of time a human needs to achieve extremely high mastery is 10,000 repetitions or perhaps hours. Talent or no talent.

Also - keep in mind the Suzuki method is called Talent Education. You can be educated to be talented.

May 9, 2011 at 12:26 AM ·

The only way for us to know involves you posting a video of yourself playing and us watching it.

If you're not comfortable with that for any or many reason(s), which is fine, and are of an age at which you are beginning to look at colleges and conservatories, go and play for some teachers who teach at schools that you might be interested in and ask them.

May 9, 2011 at 12:29 AM ·