Know anything about Chinese violins?

May 8, 2011 at 11:00 PM ·

I have been playing a violin bought of Ebay for about 2 years now and I really need a new one. My mum was talking to a violin teacher (not mine) who said that Chinese violins are good value. She said that if you pay $2000 for a Chinese violin the instrument will be of the same quality as if you paid $4000 for a German or French one. Does anyone know if this is true?

I want a violin that will last me the rest of my life and will get me through a Bachelor of Music at Uni. However I don't ever expect to be a famous soloist and I am a student so I do have a bit of a budget. Is there anything I should know? What should I be looking for? And how much should I be expecting to spend?

Replies (90)

May 9, 2011 at 12:58 AM ·

Some of the instruments made in China are a good value, but many are not.  If you look very carefully, and have help from a luthier or a very experienced teacher who really knows how to evaluate violins, you might find a good one for the money.  Don't limit yourself, though- take your time and just try to find the best instrument you can for the money you have, wherever it's from.

May 9, 2011 at 01:00 AM ·

Having seen some Chinese violins in the $1500-2000 range recently, I have to admit they are a great value. They have really mastered varnishing/antiquing (better than the Germans have EVER accomplished), and the sound is quite good (although Its hard to say what they will sound like in 10 years).

Toms' right though, you have to look around. They're not all equal.

May 9, 2011 at 02:27 AM ·