how to fix crooked bowing? tips for straight bowing please...

May 4, 2011 at 05:23 PM ·

I've been playing the violin for two years now but unfortunately I don't get to practice regularly. I really want to focus on my playing right now so I started practicing daily again...I'm currently in Suzuki 3. I play fairly well but I still have problems with bowing straight. when I focus on my dynamics or my expression, I tend to go crooked. It's the same as when I try applying vibrato. As soon as I focus on my left hand, my bow goes diagonal...how do I balance my concentration between my left and right hand?

I've tried practicing in front of the mirror. When I look at myself bowing in the mirror, I'm ok. But as soon as I start playing I hear "whooshing"/"airy" sounds every now and then...

Any tips on how I could work on my straight bowing? I would really appreciate your comments. Thanks!

Replies (37)

May 4, 2011 at 06:49 PM ·

This is a funny story but my first teacher gave me the little cardboard cylinder, that you find on the  inside of a toilet roll, to hold in my left hand and then I had to bow through it in a straight line. I had to hold this cylinder fairly near my neck to get the feeling of bowing a violin. I presume it helped me because I bow fairly straight. I also made two wire hoops attached to the violin with suckers and bowed between them.

The toilet roll episode was off cause hilarious fun to some irreverent members of the family but any other cardboard cylinder will do. 

May 4, 2011 at 06:54 PM ·