Trouble with Scales!

May 2, 2011 at 03:25 PM ·

I'm an adult beginner who's been playing just over a year and a half and currently half way through Suzuki book 2 with my private tutor.

I've been supplementing the Suzuki studies with Sevcik 40 vars and the ABRSM scale book, however I'm REALLY struggling with my scales and arpeggios considering how long I've been tackling them.

Generally my intonation is OK for a beginner but my problem is learning all of the major and minor keys in a non-robotic way and well fingered.  Does anyone have advice on how best to approach the learning and practice of scales and arpeggios as I currently dread picking up the violin for practice for that very reason! ...it's quite disheartening :(

Replies (37)

May 2, 2011 at 03:59 PM ·

Scales are important.  You need to know where the notes are and what they sound like.

It's okay to be robotic about it.  Because you develop muscle memory as well as your ear.

Finally, don't get discouraged.  If you need a break from scales for a while, that's okay too.  While knowing your scales definately makes you a better player, you can also play without practicing scales.

What's most important to getting better...is to keep playing...and if dropping the scales for a while has you playing more...then drop them...

May 2, 2011 at 04:38 PM ·

For purposes of using scales to learn all the major and minor keys "in a non-robotic way and well-fingered", I remember from student days that Carl Flesch's Scale System (Das Skalensystem) came nearer than anything else to fulfilling this aim.  On the other hand, I agree with N.A. Mohr on the great importance of keeping on playing.

May 2, 2011 at 04:48 PM ·

Well, part of playing scales is not in just doing them over and over, but overlaying an understanding of their structure. For example, all major scales follow this interval formula in each octave (W = whole step, H = half step): W W H W W W H