Time for a String Change?

April 13, 2011 at 05:39 AM ·

I'm relatively new to the violin, and I've never had to replace worn-out strings before.  I put Dominants on my violin when I first bought it (February, 2010).  In December of 2010 I swapped out the Dominant E for a Pirastro Gold Label E.

My violin always sounded a bit rough or "edgy", even with the Dominants.  After I put on the Pirastro E, I noticed an immediate change in the tone -- much smoother and sweeter.  But for the past month or two, it seems to be heading back toward sounding more harsh.  Is it likely that I need to replace the strings?  The Dominants have been on for 16 months.  I've practiced nearly every day (probably only missed a half-dozen days in that 16 months), for an average of one-and-a-half to two hours a day.  Is it likely that the tone change is due to worn-out strings?  If I change them soon, would it be a good idea to change all 4, or just the Dominants (since the Pirastro is only about 4 months old)? 

Replies (20)

April 13, 2011 at 05:52 AM ·

You definitely need new strings. I remember reading somewhere here that you should change your strings every 120 hours of playing, so if you play an hour a day, you'd be changing your strings approximately every four months. When I used Dominants (with a different E of course), I was able to get six months out of them, mostly because they were on for the ending months of the school year and the summer--the times when I perform the least.

You don't have to stick to the 120-hour rule. I know some people that will base their string changing on a numerous amount of variables, such as when the perfect fifths start becoming imperfect sounding, or when the winding on the A string is unraveling, or when the E has become black.

I usually change mine (I currently use Tonicas) every four months, which is usually when both my E has turned black till the end of the fingerboard and my A has begun unraveling.

April 13, 2011 at 05:55 AM ·