A good reason to use a shoulder rest?

April 11, 2011 at 10:09 PM ·

Ive been playing with my left thumb all the way under the neck instead of the side of the neck or sticking up and I like it alot. Its easier to use the pinky in 1st and 2nd positions and you can reach up to the highest notes easier without leaving the neck. But the thumb sticks to the neck when it is supporting the violin. So now I have to go buy a shoulder rest. I threw it away cuz I didnt like it. Or you could dip your thumb in vegetable oil before you play but that would be kinda gross.

Replies (88)

April 11, 2011 at 11:24 PM ·

As a student, I learned the thumb position you mentioned.  It works well for me.  I'll have to check during this evening's practice session, but I believe I use it more sul G, less sul E.

I played all the way to age 18 without any SR but then tried one and liked it.  It gave my left hand more freedom, especially in down-shifting; whereas I use more hand support in up-shifting.  There's definitely a seesaw feel, a give and take.  A blog by v.com member Michael Shallock explains the mechanics of this better than I can, but I don't have the piece bookmarked.

Other players report a difference in their tone, too, when playing with the SR versus playing without; but for some reason, I haven't noticed a difference with mine.  If anything, I like the tone with SR at least as well as without.

EDIT: Soon after I first tried the SR at 18, I tried playing without a jacket.  I have a medium-short neck, and I can't wear a jacket and use the SR at the same time.  I don't know if you saw the Weekend Vote feature on the tux; more input on this subject there.

April 12, 2011 at 12:15 AM ·

"SR versus tone.  The tighter the installation, the more the muting."