The case for a tighter bow?

April 2, 2011 at 02:10 AM ·

Hi folks

Been watching an interesting series of videos on string technique by the respected chamber cellist David Finckel.

In this video he makes a case for playing with a tighter bow than average:

www.youtube.com/watch

Essentially, his argument is that a tighter bow enables:

1) More volume as it enables more pressure near to the bridge

2) Quicker response as it grabs the string more immediately

3) By stiffening the weak middle part of the bow, it creates a more consistent response throughout the full length of the bow.

I'm only a beginner, but practical experimentation seems to bear out his claims: everything has become easier both on and off the string, including the Fischer tone exercises.

I have a pretty decent CF bow - one that has been used by a top soloist in public performance and I've just had it re-haired by a Hill trained bow-maker, so I don't think that this is an artefact of a poor bow or setup.

But clearly, given that most people play with a looser bow, there must be counter-arguments.

If there's been a thread on this before I can't find it, so I'd appreciate feedback from more experienced players...

Replies (21)

April 2, 2011 at 02:24 AM ·

I was a kid when I had a 1:1 session with a retired member of one of America's major symphony orchestras.  He recommended that I tighten the bow only enough to take up the slack -- maybe a little beyond this point but no more.  One of my teachers, in particular, strongly emphasized this method, too.

The symphony player demonstrated what he meant by playing some arpeggiated chords across all four strings.  He showed how an over-taut bow can cause loss of flexibility and lightness in passages like this and can aggravate the problem of unwanted bounce.

I tried out the different tightnesses myself and was convinced.  I've played his way ever since.