Help Save Public School Music

March 6, 2011 at 11:15 PM ·

Our town, like many across the United States, is facing financial difficulties.  The school committee is talking about serious budget cuts, one of which is elementary school music.  I started playing the violin in a public school music program much like this one.  Without that program, I think it's likely that I never would have learned the violin at all.  My daughter has played the violin in the program for 3 years and my son would start next year, if the program isn't cut.  My kids will have lessons and instruments no matter what, but that's not true for everyone.  A group of parents wants to present a rationale for preserving the elementary music program at a budget meeting on March 15.  Does anyone have numbers, studies, facts, showing that music boosts academic achievement, builds community and character, and is not a luxury item?

Replies (13)

March 7, 2011 at 12:38 AM ·

While I don't know of any studies or numbers offhand, I am happy to tell you and the rest of the audience, from my firsthand experience, that I benefited from the public school music program.  It definitely helped my academic achievement, character, and sense of community.  The benefits continue, even though I don't make a living in the music business.

I'd been listening to classical music at home since I was very small -- orchestral, vocal, violin, piano; but when a professional orchestra played at my elementary school, I actually saw and heard in person how string players made the music come alive.  The violin bug really bit me.  I started playing soon afterward.

I was supposed to start violin lessons in the public school program but ended up going with a private teacher instead.  Later, it was through the public school program that I started gaining orchestral experience.