Can old beginners (very old) play fast?

February 16, 2011 at 10:23 PM ·

Hello,

I'm a late beginner (very late!) and I'm doing Suzuki. I'm on book 4. I don't have a teacher, because my work involves traveling a lot and changing schedules. I'm looking for a private teacher, but I can't find one who's ready to accept my limitations (time constraints). I don't blame them.

My question: I see improvement in everything: the bowing, string crossings, vibrato, etc. But I seem to have hit a wall when it comes to speed. I can play the pieces of book 4 with a sound I find pretty, clean, in tune. But not at tempo. Most pieces I can play OK at, say, 75% of the tempo in the recordings. The Bach double, I can play OK at 85%. Please, by OK, I don't mean perfect, because I don't even know what perfect is, but just OK, in tune, no weird noises.

What could I do to play faster? Is it impossible, because I'm old? Are there studies to help me work my speed?

My aim with the violin is to work my brain, to relieve stress and to play pieces I love for myself. The problem is that some of the pieces I love have fast passages...

Should I forget Suzuki and follow another method? Do only studies? Should I move to book 5 even if I can't play book 4 at tempo?

The way I practice: I practice difficult parts. Slowly, then adding beats to the metronome. Then I try the piece together (the whole piece).

Thank you for your help.

Replies (34)

February 16, 2011 at 10:42 PM ·

If you can't play very fast, it could be other things aside from the player. Different strings require different types of work to get quality sound, so that may help. A well balanced quality bow is critical. I have multiple bows (in the advancing student level), and one is noticably easier for faster passages. I have another than sounds better, but I can't seem to get the same 'lightness' feeling, and speed with it.