Is playing the violin bad for your health?

January 9, 2011 at 05:33 PM ·

I keep hearing everyone mention injuries related to playing their violins.  What kind of injuries have people had and how are were acquired? 

Replies (48)

January 9, 2011 at 07:49 PM ·

I have some intestinal problems I do not wish to be explicit about. They were away for several years, until I started playing the violin. Probably the big tension with bad technique, cause them to be now persistent in me for 3 years...and around every concert, I have them pretty badly.

January 9, 2011 at 08:07 PM ·

The most common injury in my case is intense pain in the back, neck and shoulders after intense orchestra rehersals or a long period of intense playing. Violin playing is so not injury free and the most common injuries are  the shoulders, neck and back  that result from poor body position, intense playing periods without rest.

January 9, 2011 at 08:09 PM ·

Well, I find that an odd way to phrase the question.  A lot of things are bad for your health if you don't pay enough attention to the way you're doing them.  For instance I think runners can stress their knees, and singers who try to sing in ranges that aren't appropriate for their voice type risk doing a lot of harm.

A lot of violinists get tendonitis.  Cello teachers tell me that those students are prone to back injuries.  It can be bad technique or simply overdoing it, or some combination of both.

January 9, 2011 at 08:56 PM ·

"Well, I find that an odd way to phrase the question"

LOL!  Yeah, I guess it is.  Brevity has never been my strong suite and when I try, it gets sort of blunt.

I have been warned several times about the risk of injury if I don't have an instructor (self taught).  I relayed this to my husband and he thought that was silly.  So I'm trying to find out  what I am at risk of!

January 10, 2011 at 04:24 AM ·

Hello Susan-