I have been playing Violin for 20+ yrs, I'm getting tired of playing.

January 5, 2011 at 04:22 AM ·

Replies (32)

January 5, 2011 at 01:31 PM ·

Jon, it's not uncommon for someone to get burned out on anything they do in life.  Sometimes time off helps.  Sometimes switching gears helps spark a renewed interest.  Maybe try the cello for a while?   I'm in the same rut, different interest.  I have trained and shown dogs for 15 years.  I am currently burned out on it.  I tried different sports with my dogs.  Obedience trialing is my obsession so I gave tracking a try and find it too time consuming.  So I have given up all together and am now learning the violin which is a desire I have had since childhood.  Lately I've been looking at my youngest dog and thinking it's time to try again with him.  I've often had long breaks from competing with my dogs due to various reasons and what I find is that I come back with a renewed energy, a renewed passion and a new set of goals.  Sometimes breaks are good.  

January 5, 2011 at 01:40 PM ·

It happens to players at the top, as well. Nigel Kennedy took quite some time off from his concert schedule some years and did other things in music, before returning reinvigorated. I believe he was quoted at the time as saying he didn't look forward to the prospect of playing the Mendelssohn 20 times in 6 months and finding something new to say in each performance!

January 5, 2011 at 03:05 PM ·

Have you considered trying baroque violin? The posture and style is more relaxed, like playing a different instrument entirely.  The tone richer harmonically, easier on the ears. You may find a new voice and an altogether different meaning in the music. 

January 5, 2011 at 05:13 PM ·