Alternative to Dominants?

December 6, 2010 at 10:05 PM ·

Just a few weeks ago, I was fortunate enough to muster up the courage (and funds) to buy a new violin so that I could finally stick that Chinese VSO that I've been playing on for seven years in the closet and never touch it again. What was really cool was that Daniel Lewin was the one manning the shop, so he was the one who sold me the violin and gave me some tips and suggestions. It was a really nice Guarneri-like one with a café varnish and a nice one-piece back. And it's voice was so elegant, too. It had a good strong volume to it with a thick yet mellow voice almost like a higher-pitched viola. It's just really hard to explain, but if you're into subtler, but still somewhat rich voices like violas, then you'd really be fond of it.

Originally, it was strung with D'Addario Helicores and a Pirastro Gold Label E. It was a decent match in my opinion, and it gave the violin a warmer, albeit less rich and less powerful tone if you understand what I'm trying to convey, here. I decided to immediately restring it with medium Dominants and a Jargar E, which was the combination I used with my VSO that made it so much less VSO-sounding. I am pretty satisfied with the Jargar E. If I had to choose between the Gold Label and the Jargar, I would be torn. What I'm really annoyed about is the A and the D. The A literally screams at me once I play anything past an E flat, and the D is just annoying-sounding at G and beyond. I know that they've settled in because they're pretty much completely pitch stable and actually sound BETTER than they did when I first strung them.

Now what I need, are the opinions of all you esteemed and highly experienced players/luthiers/hobbyists here. What should my next step be in terms of strings? Should I go back to the D'Addario Helicores, or is there a G-D-A combo that would seem perfect for the warmth and mellowness, but still rich, sound that I'm trying to find?

Replies (26)