Finding Your Niche?

December 4, 2010 at 03:30 AM ·

As usual, when I'm the OP, I'll go first:

For me, the winners are solo -- either unaccompanied or with piano or guitar accompaniment -- and small chamber.  I like people, but I'm not a big-group type; I prefer small, compact units and 1:1 relationships.

As a student, I did all types of playing listed above.  My teachers encouraged me to branch out this way; and thank goodness they did, because it helped me to get a fuller idea of what the different types of playing demand of the performer -- and get a better idea of what I wanted to do musically.

Orchestra was the last avenue I got involved in.  Although I was a kid beginner in violin and took to the instrument readily, I didn't have my first orchestral experience till I reached high school some years later.  I enjoyed the experience and was a bit surprised to see myself advance through the ranks faster than I had first thought I might.

After high school, I auditioned for and got a seat in the Civic Orchestra of Chicago, the CSO's training school, thinking that the symphonic profession was where I wanted to go career-wise.  I wouldn't have wanted to miss this experience for anything -- many fond memories here.

Yet, by 21, I decided that orchestral playing was something I no longer wanted to do.  It was cutting into the time I had available to play the kind of music I now realized I had my heart set on -- solo and chamber -- where my individual musical voice and style and individualistic personality could best come through.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
EDIT: Prior to Mike Laird's input -- first reply, immediately below -- I had originally listed jazz and improv, too, but cut them at the last minute before posting.

Replies (22)

December 4, 2010 at 03:08 PM ·

Lets open up the categories - a lot - because people perform the violin at high levels of skill in many other categories than solo, chamber, and orchestral.  So to add just a few, consider: