Hurting

November 7, 2010 at 10:40 PM ·

Hello,

I am a violin student and am wondering how you maintain you self-esteem when others try to knock you down by telling you "you aren't good enough" or "you'll never make it". Has anyone else out there dealt with this? How do you get past it? How do you maintain confidence? Advice would be appreciated.

-Hannah

Replies (51)

November 7, 2010 at 11:09 PM ·

Hannah, who are the people saying these hurtful things to you?  Are you a high school student?  College?  You don't have any bio information.  It seems that some young people these days can be very mean, even hateful and violent, to others.

What do your teachers have to say about your playing?  Your teachers are the ones you should listen to.

I imagine that would not be easy to ignore the hurtful things, if you are around these people every day.  Perhaps you could try to minimize your interaction with them.  Hopefully they are not family members.  Try to stay around people that are supportive, as much as you can.  

Give us a little more info and perhaps others can give better advice than I.  Site members here can also give you moral support.  Hope to hear more from you!

November 8, 2010 at 12:53 AM ·