What's the harm with dry air?

November 7, 2010 at 10:40 PM ·

I don't store my violin in it's case.  It has a peg on the wall where I can see it and easily access it when I am ready to play.  Trying to avoid  "out of sight out of mind" since I am just a beginner.  With winter on the way, we typically reduce the heat in our house and start using the ventless heater in our library so we have a couple of warmer rooms that we dwell in.  The ventless heater really dries out the air in these rooms and this is the room my violin lives in.  Last night it was flat, flat, flat, flat.  Very out of tune.  Am I harming my violin by keeping it hanging on the wall in a dry room or do I need to start storing it in it's case with a humidifier?   I can't use a humidifier in the library as they tend to trigger my asthma after a while.

(I almost tagged this under the "health" heading since my question refers to the health of my violin!)

Replies (29)

November 8, 2010 at 12:28 AM ·

Keep your fiddle in the cooler areas of the house. The change in humidity is far more troublesome than temperature changes, and the cooler air will have a higher relative humidity.

The low humidity can cause seams to open, the soundpost to fall, and cracks to form in the plates. Going out of tune is the least of it.

We keep our house in the high 50s low 60s and live near the water; in the winter, we rarely go below 40%, which is still lower than you should be, but is survivable.  When the humidity swings from 70% summer to 15 or 20% in winter in a heated house, you find lots of trouble.

Keeping your fiddle in a case also slows the rate of change, which is also healthier for it. And it keeps the dust off. But it is nice to have it out and ready to play:)

November 8, 2010 at 12:43 AM ·

A cooler spot?  How cool is too cool?  We hardly heat our bedroom at all and that's where I often practice.