The Hartford Insurance Company Woes

October 20, 2010 at 04:40 PM ·

My name is Emily Grossman, and I once had a violin bow made by Sylvain Bigot. On Friday, August 13th, 2010, during a routine bow rehairing, the fumes from an open bottle of denatured alcohol met with an open flame and burst into fire. My bow suffered severe burns and was damaged beyond repair. "Mr. X", the man responsible for the accident, assured me that his insurance company, the Hartford, would cover the cost of the bow, and thus I was relieved.

August 26th, I closed things out with Mr. X, who gave me some figures and informed me that it may be a couple of weeks before I received my check reimbursing me for the value of the bow. Meanwhile, I had been forced to travel the country in search of a new bow to suit my needs. (I am a professional musician, and could not go without a bow.) I found one, and placed it on my credit card under the impression that I would be able to pay it off with my reimbursement.

Six weeks went by as I checked the mailbox for my check. At the end of September, I began making phone calls in order to ascertain the whereabouts of my check. After a week of queries, I finally spoke with an agent from the Hartford who knew absolutely nothing about my incident (he referred to my bow as "that stick thing you pull across the violin?"). He gave me some possible numbers for my claim and phone numbers that might give me results. I left a message.